Presentation Zen: Spring, sakura inspire hope for new beginnings

by Scott Smith

Spring, birth, and the circle of of life
During the cherry blossom season of 2010 our first child was born in Japan, making last spring the best ever. And yet, last spring was also the time my mother passed away back in the States while I was by her bedside. And although many tears were shed at that moment, the close proximity in time of my daughter’s birth and my mother’s death, was a direct expression of the circle of life itself, both the miracle of birth and the ephemerality of life as we know it here on earth. The joy of birth is indescribable, yet the sorrow of losing the one who was closest to me for my entire life until that moment of departure was somehow softly tempered by the awareness that this too was apart of we we call life. I was reminded then too of the old adage “Don’t cry because it’s over. Smile because it happened.”

