The Nervous Breakdown

by Scott Smith

10.  Barring advertising from books.

Most book contracts have specific clauses saying the publisher won’t run paid advertising inside the book.  Understandably, authors don’t want publishers to generate income from their work without compensation.  Also, there is posterity to take into account.

This brings to mind the Woody Allen routine where he gets a phone call one day from someone asking him to do a commercial.  If I recall his response correctly, it is, “No.  I’m an artist.  I don’t endorse products.  And if I did, I wouldn’t endorse your product.”

The person on the other end of the line says, “That’s too bad.  The photo shoot only takes half a day and it pays $100,000.”

“Hold on,” the Wood Man replies.  “I’ll put Mr. Allen on the phone.”

