Thoughts on Dan Pink’s Drive

by Scott Smith

Just finished ‘Drive.’ It’s a superior book if for no other reason then it made me recall moments in my life when I was motivated intrinsically. The main moment was when Nick and Ken had me work on the Chase outsourcing project. I didn’t get paid anything, didn’t expect anything, but worked long hours to get the job done. The job I was asked to do was not interesting; however, the project was.

Another time was when I started working for Ken in Indiana, and I pursued an MCSE. Ken didn’t offer me an ‘if-then’ reward if I achieved the certification. He simply supported my efforts by paying for tests and books.

‘Drive’ gives me a vocabulary for what is wrong in my current situation, and the tools to extract myself from it. Pink also provides excellent summaries at the end of the book.

Posted via web from S. MacKay Smith’s Notes

