Online TV stinks

by Scott Smith

We only have a tv antenna; I know, that’s pathetic for a geek. I should have a satellite and TiVo and a robot to vacuum my floors.

I don’t.

I’m tired of giving a dozen vendors $20-$40 per month. So, I watch a lot of my shows  online. This worked out well last season, but not now.

I can’t speak for ABC (who had the best online experience last season) and FOX, but I can say that CBS and NBC suck in that special geek way. What am I talking about? It doesn’t work well and when it does, it requires a lot of effort.

How painful? Two computer reboots and one router reboot.

Saturdays are tv watching day. I like to chill with Numb3rs, Life (a new NBC show that isn’t so bad), CSI and The Unit (the worst show ever created by such creative people ever).

It’s now after 8pm and I still haven’t finished my shows. Why? The streaming breaks. The navigation to shows doesn’t work. One Numb3rs episode started fast-forwarding on its own — switching from Flash to Windows Media fixed that. Another favorite bug is watching an episode that suddenly switches to another episode.

When tv programmers and mediocre computer programmers combine their talents, only bad things happen.

Perhaps they should consider seeding their episodes on BitTorrent networks.

