Planting Season

by Scott Smith

We’ve been working on putting in our vegetable garden. Phenologically speaking, I’m a few weeks behind. I should have been planting my peas as soon as the daffodils started to bloom (or is it when the forsythia blooms?). I am forever a day late and a dollar short, but I’m getting better at this whole food production thing. I’ve been putting in my cool weather vegetables over the past few days (sugar snap peas, radishes, broccoli, lettuces) and also some purple potatoes (rich in antioxidants) and yellow onions. The planting happened AFTER I finish putting up chicken wire around the perimeter. It’s not gorgeous fencing but last year I lost a lot of produce to chickens who like to take one bite out of EVERYTHING. I don’t like eating after chickens.
scotttilling2007.jpg
Scott doing the heavy lifting for me.

