Sears: We don’t do part numbers on the phone

by Scott Smith

Why is Sears going into the toilet? Sure, they got out-maneuvered by Wal-Mart and Target. They’ve had time to try to turn it around, right?

I even enjoy visiting their hardware type stores. I find the service normally pretty good, especially the store in Rensselaer, Indiana.

Our Craftsman garden tractor blew out a tire last year. I called Sears’ parts number. They found the part and quoted me a price, which was twice the amount a farm store had quoted me.

I wanted to think about it. I asked the rep if I can have the part number to save time in case I decided to buy from them. She said: “We don’t do part numbers on the phone.” Really?

Well, I don’t do business with loser companies. I rather push my little mower every weekend than step in a store or go to sears.com. Bye. You just lost another customer.

By the way, I’ve added a new category in honor of this post: Dinosaurs.

