Who is Carl T. Griffith?

by Scott Smith

“Carl T. Griffith, who gave a sourdough starter to anyone who asked, or who sent him a self-addressed stamped envelope, died early in the year 2000 at the age of 80. He is known for his generosity and the high quality and vitality of his sourdough starts, which came from a sourdough culture carefully nurtured and preserved in his family for over 150 years.”

ww1.jpg

150 years!! That is an amazing sour dough record. I have never been able to keep one very long, but I’m inspired now. You can get one of your own by sending a SASE to the address listed on this web page. I would just give you the address, but if you read the web page you will understand why I didn’t. Carl’s friends are carrying on his tradition of giving a start to anyone and everyone who asks or sends a SASE. This sour dough start was carried over the Oregon Trail. I can’t wait to get mine and make some bread with a little history.

Scott e-mailed me this link via Boing Boing.

