Jars

by Scott Smith

jars.jpg

I’m not a dedicated garage saler by any stretch of the imagination but I do get lucky from time to time when I stop by a garage sale I happen to pass. Of course, anymore I only go in search of canning jars because it is the only affordable way a person can actually put up their own garden produce (and I have no interest in buying used toilet seats or ash tray sets from the 70’s). My husband would be happy to tell you that I’ve purchased more jars than anyone could possibly use since we landed in Hickory Corners but I’ve only spent about 1/100 of what those jars would have cost new. My most recent batch cost me $10 and I’m sure that there are several dozen usable jars in the many boxes I walked away with. Now I can start filling them with raspberry jam and jalapeno peppers!

